Vauxhall Owners Network Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all. So after searching these forums for two days I decided to post as there seems to be a lot of info on the same/very similar problems but I'm a total novice.

Bought the above (2011 1.7cdti exclusiv model I think!) Two days ago from a dealer (it was a part ex so sold no come back etc which is fine..). After a bus wrote my trusty fiesta off two weeks ago (needed a bigger car anyway as 4 kids one on the way).

So.. silly me didn't check until afterwards but the problems are-

The panel where the heating controls are- nothing works apart from the blower speed.
No AC light or the one next to it or rear window one etc
Doesn't change temp- stuck on hot
Doesn't change position- always blowing at windscreen.

Ok so I thought.. I will deal with it for now and just open windows on hot days. At least it's not and on the windscreen for winter...

But it's annoying me.

And we noticed a stink... It smells like mould.. damp.. I was convinced something had been spilled or there was mould but I spent hours cleaning the upholstery with a Vax carpet cleaner with antimicrobial stuff and the smell is still there. It seems (to me) that it is coming from the front of the car.. sort of passenger footwell into engine bay type area although I may also have just been sniffing far too much.

I looked up the fuse locations for anything to do with heating AC etc and checked. Fuse 27 (5A) under bonnet present and correct. Fuse 3 is a big 40A one not there but also not there on the diagrams I have seen so guess it's not meant to be? Also noted that fuse 27 on another diagram is for something else and actually 5A (as the ones where is says f27 is related to ac etc it's listed as 7.5A but the one in that spot on mine is 5A).

Rear box.. seems no fuse 14 which .. according to some diagrams is related?