1 - 20 of 75 Posts

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Vauxhall Astra H (Mk5) 2006

1.6 Petrol - Twinport

Z16XEP

Hi, I come here tonight seeking help or two fronts.

I have a P0170 engine running lean fault for the past 6 months. For the past few months the car really struggles in first gear (juddering). I have replaced air filter, oil and filter change, new spark plugs.

Over the past fortnight or so I have noticed a real loss of power. After clearing the code, the eml has finally returned and it brought my old friend p0170 but with company this time, p0201, p0202, p0203m p0204. (cylinder 1 injector circuit, 2 etc etc)

Due to good fortune I have a few days free to try and resolve it. Admittedly a complete novice, I’m in the process of trying to remove the inlet manifold to clean the egr channels hoping to resolve p0170. That’s the first request for help, I’m a little bit stuck and hope you can help me finish the job.

The other question related to the new codes, could they be related to my original fault, or could it be ecu or a fuel related issue?

1. I have removed, air flow, ecu, throttle body and roughly 18 bolts from the inlet manifold. One bolt remains pictured below. Struggling to remove it but will crack at it in the morning again. I would expect with 18 bolts removed that there would be more movement but it seems firmly secured. Am I missing something obvious?

2. Also this brake servo vacuum hose is proving very difficult. I can see a something screw like underneath but can’t get access to it with the design of the unit. Is there another way to remove this?

Thanks,

Attachments

·
15,396 Posts
There might be a support strut attached to the manifold that attaches low down on the block.

Follow the vacuum pipe along and you may find there is a joint under the engine cover.

·
Premium Member
16,282 Posts