Vauxhall Owners Network Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I've just joined this to look for some info about tunning the good old vauxhall nova!!
Basically I'm a student at sheffield uni doing mechanical engineering and one of the projects im involved in is to do with prepping a nova rally car. The car is a 1.4 road rally car running a ported and polished head along with a kent cam and bigger carb. It also has a fully cage, bucket seats and belts, our hope one day is to build the car into a buisness and hire it out for stage rallying, but thats along way off yet....
Anyway my question is to do with engine tuning, we are thinking off upgrading to motorbike throttle bodies and running the car on the Megasquirt ECU, firstly has anyone done this before on a nova??
Ihave a fairly good understanding of megasquirt, but have a few more question about the ignition side of things. We would be wanting to convert the car to distributor less ignition and run it from a coil pack from the ECU, I'm familar with the EDIS system used on fords but is there an equivilant vauxhall system that is used on later cars that could be adapted??

If anyone can give me any advice or help I'd be very gratefull, this is my first post so I apologise for the length and number of questions!!

Cheers Chris

·
Omega Tank Commander
7,722 Posts
If running throttle bodies then megasquirt may proove difficult as it works off MAP so workss better with a single throttle butterfly.

As for the ignition, yes, Vaux have many DIS modules and ignition amps (i.e. the 1.2 Nova ignition amp) but, you moight as well use the EDIS as its proven with teh Megasquirt n spark system.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Marks DTM Calib said:
If running throttle bodies then megasquirt may proove difficult as it works off MAP so workss better with a single throttle butterfly.