Vauxhall Owners Network Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first post, so hello to everyone.

I've had a good rummage and haven't seen this problem listed.

My '98 omega 2.5 v6 is suffering from submerged spark plugs; namely the plug sockets fill with rainwater! This is causing it to misfire, as you would expect. Wondered if anyone else has seen / had this problem.

Also, I think I've a leak from the gearbox - there appears to be a very thin oil forming a small puddle underneath. Wondered if anyone would be kind enough to point me in the direction of the gearbox filler. Pics would be greatly appreciated.

If anyone knows of a trustworthy garage in county durham, with experience of these cars I'd be eternally grateful...

I might add, that I'm no mechanic, but have a basic knowledge.

Many Thanks...

L

·
0 Posts
Welcome to the forum Jazz :)

Rain water??
I very much doubt it is rain water (even in County Durham, the wettest place in England I think! :lmao:).
I think you will find that is oil. Stick some kitchen roll in there and check. :)
Rocker cover gaskets leaking, caused by blocked breathers.

This will also account for the oil under the car.

Excellent how2's in the Omega how2 section.

·
Registered
682 Posts
Jazz Dalek said:
This is my first post, so hello to everyone.

I've had a good rummage and haven't seen this problem listed.

My '98 omega 2.5 v6 is suffering from submerged spark plugs; namely the plug sockets fill with rainwater! This is causing it to misfire, as you would expect. Wondered if anyone else has seen / had this problem.

Also, I think I've a leak from the gearbox - there appears to be a very thin oil forming a small puddle underneath. Wondered if anyone would be kind enough to point me in the direction of the gearbox filler. Pics would be greatly appreciated.

If anyone knows of a trustworthy garage in county durham, with experience of these cars I'd be eternally grateful...