Vauxhall Owners Network Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Would appreciate if someone could offer some advice please.
I was doing some maintenance on my Vivaro 2017 today which included break pads. I got the fronts changed over no problem but when I moved onto the rears I just couldn’t get the nuts that hold the calliper in place undone, since I can’t swivel it left or right. ( nuts are completely rusted ) Am I waisting my time here? Does this require a ramp or is there possibly a tool I can buy to make job easier? I am by no means a mechanic but I have always carried out basic maintenance on my vans .

thanks for any help

·
Premium Member
693 Posts
Lots of plusgas spray, or a 50:50 acetone ATF mix brushed onto the bolts. Repeat regularly over 24 hours. If all else fails hit it with fire. Heat followed by cooling from a freeze spray or compressed air can loosen the rust. Be very careful of rubber boots seals or hoses.

A nasty but effective method that you shouldn't use :censored: : If you can get a long ratchet handle in but don't have a lot of room to get force onto it, you can try either lowering the vehicle so that the weight of it moves the handle, or try lifting the handle with a spare jack. Bear in mind if it slips, the nut breaks etc, it could go badly and cause damage and death, so use common sense. (y)

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Lots of plusgas spray, or a 50:50 acetone ATF mix brushed onto the bolts. Repeat regularly over 24 hours. If all else fails hit it with fire. Heat followed by cooling from a freeze spray or compressed air can loosen the rust. Be very careful of rubber boots seals or hoses.