Vauxhall Owners Network Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all..
I need your help :(. - I'm new to dabbling in cars, so apologies in advance.

Astra Mk 5. 1.6 Z16XER.

Background:

Basically I had fault code ECN217218 - coolant sensor.

I changed the coolant sensor in the opposite end to the thermostat... I then changed the thermostat. Then a week ago I did the one in the radiator.

Problem now:

This morning I drove a mile down the road and I saw steam coming out my engine, I was stopped at a traffic light. Drove a further mile and a half to get to work and popped the bonnet.. constant steam coming out of the metal shielding that covers my manifold...

All week i have been checkin on the coolant, as I'm super paranoid..
But it hasn't dropped, which makes me believe the radiator isnt cracked?..

Could it be the heater matrix?

·
Worn Out Member
7,857 Posts
If it's coming from behind the exhaust shield it won't be the heater matrix,are you certain it's steam and not smoke from an oil leak or possible blown gasket or cracked exhaust manifold?

Reactions: Fred Bassett

·
Registered
30 Posts
I could be wrong but I would of though if it was heater matrix you would of had to top up your coolant. They can also go with a bang at times.. is your coolant clean?

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
If it's coming from behind the exhaust shield it won't be the heater matrix,are you certain it's steam and not smoke from an oil leak or possible blown gasket or cracked exhaust manifold?

Im pretty confident it's steam and not smoke. I'm goin to do a paper test at lunch.

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I could be wrong but I would of though if it was heater matrix you would of had to top up your coolant. They can also go with a bang at times.. is your coolant clean?

Yeah coolant was reolaced when I did the sensor last weekend.

Im really confused on what it could be .