Vauxhall Owners Network Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
195 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Folks, the dreaded ABS dashboard light came on yesterday. Today I found the front offside sensor had a very high resistance so I removed it. This took 4 hours as was rusted in and meant smashing it to get it all out in bits. I then found a replacement almost unobtainable apart from one site asking £150 for one. I have ordered a used Cavalier one which looks similar but on a shorter lead for £12.50 which I am hoping I will be able to splice a longer lead on. The question is in case this doesn't work does anyone know of a compatible part that's more available.

·
93 Carlton 2.0 Diamond Estate, 06 Vivaro 1.9 CDTi
1,104 Posts
Hi, I have some experience of the ABS sensors on my Carlton.
Firstly, are yours the plastic or stainless steel type, the plastic ones are less hassle as they don't short to earth when corroded, always fit with a good coating of copper slip to stop any corrosion.
Secondly, you can lengthen/shorten the leads but solder the joints & cover with shrink sleeving on both joins & then on both wires, then cover the join with self amalgamating tape a good distance past the join.
Thirdly, you can get most vauxhall ABS sensors to fit if they are the same size, the differences are mainly in the orientation of the fixing hole/s in relation to the sensor pick up ( the sensors are length ways across the activating ring ) there are also some differences in the orientation of the wire but most can be overcome with a slight reroute of the cable with safety in mind.
I have actually front sensors fitted to the rear on my car with a slight mod to the fixing as the fixing holes are 90 Deg's out.
I have just purchased some new Cavalier rears as they are the same except for the length of cable as a spare set just in case.

·
Registered
195 Posts
Discussion Starter #3