22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi guys and gals newbie here..

i drive a 2.5v6 omega elite 2000 facelift
satin red
shadow grey leather 4xheated
bose/phone
i love it...
this site is great seems a friendly place.
like omegas because they are a great all round car.
owned for 6 months now but just found this site..
hope you all keeping well.
eddie spaghetti

·
VXons resident Priest
3,965 Posts
Welcome to vxon Mr Spaghetti, you'll find we're a pretty friendly bunch on here.

R

·
0 Posts
Welcome mate.:Cool2:

1st things 1st. Cambelt.

The cambelt and tensioner have a MAXIMUM life of 40k or 4 years, whichever is sooner. If yours hasn't been changed within that time/mileage, you should think very seriously about doing it tomorrow.

Post up some history on your car and we will advise accordingly what you should check/ see has been done. Mileage will help.

See, what a nice bunch we are.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
thanks ...great advice..
first thing i did was cambelt...car has done 79,600mls due for 80 000 service soon and new exhaust is going on tommorrow. i also had air con serviced and re gassed. rear tyre wear is uneven so needs a 4 wheel alignment..
fvsh so far , so just toying who to do service wether keep vauxhall or use independent garage?
any help with this decision greatly appreciated.

·
Premium Member
575 Posts
It seems you are fully on top of things.

I'd suggest moving to an independent garage. When you come to sell a 5+ year old car as long as you have a full set of service stamps (whoever they are from) that will be just fine.

R

·
0 Posts
I agree with Jason.

Dare I ask, did Vauxhall change the water pump when they did the cambelt and I have to ask if they did the tensioners?

Water pump is not essential, but we did 6 V6 cambelts yesterday. 5 of those cars needed new water pumps. 2 were on 80k.