Vauxhall Owners Network Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys, Im new to Vx/Omegas/and this forum, so hi to all of you lot and hope you can help me?

I have a couple of issues with my 2001 (Y) Omega - 2.2 cd!!

Its only done 39,500 and with FSH, but when starting up from cold the top end rattles/taps quite loudly for about a minute or so. It does disappear when driven for a mile or so, but it doesnt do it when the engine is hot.
It is due for a oil change very soon, so could it be the wrong grade of oil used in the first place? (too thick?) Im planning to put 5W/30 magnatec - would this be ok?

When the engine is idling for a short while the oil light comes on until the engine is revved - is this ok? or is this oil related too?

Thanks for any feedback:Cool2:

·
Premium Member
7,262 Posts
i would have the oil pressure checked pronto , same with an oil change , if the oil pressure is going low enough to put the oil light on at idle then it sounds like there is something wrong , even though it could be a faulty oil pressure switch but get it looked at rather than cause damage.

·
Registered
682 Posts
Hi guys, Im new to Vx/Omegas/and this forum, so hi to all of you lot and hope you can help me?

I have a couple of issues with my 2001 (Y) Omega - 2.2 cd!!

Its only done 39,500 and with FSH, but when starting up from cold the top end rattles/taps quite loudly for about a minute or so. It does disappear when driven for a mile or so, but it doesnt do it when the engine is hot.
It is due for a oil change very soon, so could it be the wrong grade of oil used in the first place? (too thick?) Im planning to put 5W/30 magnatec - would this be ok?

When the engine is idling for a short while the oil light comes on until the engine is revved - is this ok? or is this oil related too?

Thanks for any feedback:Cool2: