Vauxhall Owners Network Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi
So I'm no mechanic that's for sure but I have found I have a P0301 fault code. This says I have a misfire on cylinder 1. I understand cylinder 1 doesn't always mean the first cylinder in the row but more the first firing cylinder...?
So I've taken the coil pack out (easy job, even for a thicky like me) and here are some images. You can see the second coil in from the socket the end has broken off and is stuck up in the rubber cap. The first one the plastic is broke at the top and the other 2 have cracks in the plastic.... It looks like this is a one piece bit of kit (not individual coils that I could swap around for testing) so do you guys think this is the issue and should I buy a new kit anyway. The spark plugs look ok and were only changed a short while ago... Cheers.
Gary

·
12,755 Posts
Looks like that is not an original coil so has been replaced previously.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I'm sure you are right :) but do you think this could be the reason for a misfire on cylinder 1, would the second cylinder in be cylinder 1 re the firing sequence

·
12,755 Posts
No, cylinder one is on the left as you face the engine.

·
Worn Out Member
5,811 Posts
It could well be a coil pack issue,that looks like a knock off Chinese copy part you have there,
so definitely suspect,
swap a couple of plugs over and see if the code changes to the cylinder you've moved plug 1 to

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
It could well be a coil pack issue,that looks like a knock off Chinese copy part you have there,
so definitely suspect,
swap a couple of plugs over and see if the code changes to the cylinder you've moved plug 1 to
I forgot to say the first thing I did was swap the plugs around. They are pretty new and look ok but yes, i did that first and the same code comes up. Cheers

·
Premium Member
1,322 Posts