Vauxhall Owners Network Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have an X reg Vectra, and the problem is that the rear window demister isnt working. When I press the switch it clicks, and the light on the switch goes on, but nothing else. First of all I checked the fuse, but it seemed ok, and when I replaced it, it worked!! Next day it wouldnt work, so tried removing and reseating the fuse, but no joy. I have replaced the fuse with a new one, but it still isnt working. I bought the fuse from Halfords, and the guy came out to the car and fitted it for me. He didnt see anything wrong with the original fuse, but put the new one in anyway, and he checked for broken wires inside the window, but didnt see any.

Any ideas what I can do now? I'm not very technical when it comes to cars, but I dont want to take it to a garage and be charged a fortune if it's something relatively simple.

·
Premium Member
563 Posts
i'm going to take a guess and say the heated rear window relay could be faulty or worse it could be the multi timer fitted to the back of the fuse box under the dash.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the reply, Scott. What's a heated rear window relay, how do I find it and is it easy to replace? And how would I know if it needed replacing without spending the money to replace it?

·
Premium Member
563 Posts
i'm not sure which relay it is,if you pull the fuse box cover off from under the steering wheel and look on the back of it at the pictures it will have a picture of a window with lines through it,it should be over to the left somewhere of the cover at a guess,once you find it ,its just a case of wiggling it out and putting another one in its place
i have read that a broken alternator can cause the heated rear window not to work as well,are you getting any other problems ?