Vauxhall Owners Network Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
On our 1.7TD, I have always thought the brakes were not quite as good as I would have liked, but with rear drums and a diesel lump, I put it down to this (And comments on here back this up). However, I have always planned to have the rear brakes inspected just to check them over. Also, the handbrake isn't brilliant, and has slowly got worse (Handbrake lever not got excessive height/clicks, but needs a godd second yank when the car starts rolling). So much so that it doesn't hold the car on hills, and the wife has ordered me to have a look at it next weekend when she is away. All my previous cars have been discs all round, and I have no experience with drums, and no experience with handbrakes!! So questions are as follows:

How easy is it to take drums off for inspection?
On drums, are there separate shoes for handbrake & main brakes?
Does it sound like the handbrake needs simple adjustment or new shoes?

I have had a look at other threads, but all seem to relate to rear disc cars. Any hints / tips / pointers much appreciated....

·
CavWeb's Oldguy
4,816 Posts
Does your cav have combined disc/drum or just drums?

If just drums do they squeal? The drums are often stuck on if they haven't been moved for a while. Are any of the tyre/brake outlets in your area doing free brake checks? If so ask how they check the rear linings. Could be a good way of getting the drums free, free!

C

·
0 Posts
Drums should come off easy enough, unless worn badly.
Will be just drums on a diesel, and shoes operate hand and foot brakes.
Expect cleaning the drums and new shoes would help a lot.

·
8v Power!
10,748 Posts
adjusting the hand brake cable isn't difficult at all - even I can do it :)

C

·
0 Posts
Chris12345 said: