Vauxhall Owners Network Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, brand new member here so apologies if I’m asking questions that have been asked before or posted to wrong category, I did try having a look before making a new thread.

Ive recently bought a ‘55 Tigra and I’m looking to do some cosmetic bits to it, but I am by no means a car expert so thought it best to check for answers to some questions before I start spending money.

My first question (which I’ve searched google extensively but can’t find a clear answer) is how can I change the cover on the handbrake lever. Not the leather gaitor, I’ve seen how to do that. I mean the plastic handle with the button. I’ve bought a replacement that is a hollow metal cylinder which presumably slides over the handbrake lever. My question is, how do I get the original one off? It looks like it’s made of two pieces of plastic, silver and black. Also is removing and swapping the button a simple enough task? The replacement I’ve bought includes a chrome handbrake release button but I’m reluctant to get started without being sure I know what I’m doing in case I break the whole thing!

Second question; is the front bumper the same as on a Corsa or Astra? I need a new front bumper as the current one has a sizeable hole in it but finding tigra parts seems difficult as it wasn’t a very common car (as far as I can tell, happy to be corrected). I know the engine is based off the Corsa so I wondered if some of the body work was interchangeable too? It looks superficially similar to the Astra’s from the same time but wanted to check before buying one. Can I search for Astra or Corsa parts instead? (And if so, which models?)