Vauxhall Owners Network Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Premium Member
371 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well im a noob when it comes to this stuff and even a simple brake pad change i want to double check some things. (my only car, its old its haggard and knarly but its mine and its important i dont naff this up)

Ive picked up the correct pads but ive just popped the wheel off the car and its a filth fest and the pads are nearly gone :boff Ive only had the car a month and the breaks squeel a little and theres a bit of feedback through pedal so needs doing pronto.

Is there any tips? I have some copper grease but am not entirely sure what to do with it and where is the valve i have to bleed to get the piston back in?

Lemme know if theres a guide better than the haynes manual which has very very crap pictures!

·
VXon Frontera Monkey
9,882 Posts
Hi firstly go to the local garage and steam clean both sides to remove the cack then read the eamil i am sending you
regards
Steve

·
Premium Member
371 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks man that helped alot, haynes is great but sometimes isnt the clearest thing in the world.

Anyways this is what was left of my pads, about 4-5mm at best.

Best bit is the MOT was only done 3 months ago (b4 i got the car) evidently a con :down: unless stevie wonder works as a spanner jocky in wolverhampton :eh

Discs looked to need doing as well imo but i will do that next time around.

Pretty much everything on this car wants doing :( Least i learn this way :bananasmi

Thansk again!

·
VXon Frontera Monkey
9,882 Posts
Hi if i didn't know better i would say it looks like a siezed slider has caused this check the sliders for free movement
regards
Steve

·
Qualified lego bricklayer
9,180 Posts
Hi if i didn't know better i would say it looks like a siezed slider has caused this check the sliders for free movement
regards
Steve