Vauxhall Owners Network Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My OH has a cavalier 1.8 (petrol) which keeps cutting out. It is mostly on acceleration but not always. We have changed the carb twice, the fuel line, the petrol tank, added filters, bought a new pump and tried an electric pump. Some one suggested it may be the brain which we are going to try tomorrow but as you can imagine it is driving us crazy!!!!:shame: I think i have mentioned everything but we are total novices in need of desperate help. Any suggestions? Thanks, Shell.

·
Registered
7 Posts
hello Shell, The Cav will not have a brain if it has a carb; they are for fuel injection motors. These problems tend to be loose wiring connections around the ignition system, loose connections/corrosion on battery terminals even the connections made in the ignition switch. Intermittent faults like this are difficult to track. keep an eye on any other symptoms that may occur at the same time. IE charging warning lights, dim head lights etc. Also ensure that there is a good earth connection between the body of the car and the engine. Hope this helps

·
Premium Member
2,998 Posts
As stevie says above really,also could be the ignition module that sits directly below the coil,Anything in particular that makes you think it a fuel related fault?

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Cheers guys,
OH says it sounds fuel starved and most people who have a bit of experience say the same. I know i sound daft but what is the black box directly behind the carb under the windscreen? ta, shell.

·
Premium Member
2,998 Posts
Its somthing similar to waht you call the "brain",It controls the spark,timing ect.I suppose it could be faulty but from what i remeber they don't go very often.the ignition amplifier module i mentioned earlyer though is a popular fault.Do you get the engine management light on at all?

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·