Vauxhall Owners Network Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,
I'm a noob to the forum and posts so i appologise if i do anything wrong :( . As my title says I have a 98 astra f c14nz which is my familys only car... i have 4 young children. The other morning my car refused to start. it was cranking ok but not firing and so far we have been unable to make her live again. I've re-charged the battery, replaced a worn dizzy cap and rotor arm. All the things we can think of and check and most of the sensors have been out and cleaned/ returned with no avail. The problem appears to be that way too much fuel is been pumped into the engine and flooding the spark plugs. My friend thinks my coolant temp sensor may have given up so im replacing it tomorrow in the hope that it will live again. has anyone had a similar problem before? this is my second astra with the NZ engine and the first time i've had to do anything to the engine asides from general maintainance. Car has done 89k with full service history if that helps?:think

All help is greatly appreciated and thanks in anticipation.

Dave

·
I refuse to grow up.
16,114 Posts
Check to see if you have a spark, used to see a few of these, usual problem was the crankshaft sensor, (fitted in the dizzy on these) or the coil.
Oh and if it is a 1998 it should have the X14NZ (exact same unit except a few bits n bobs were updated)

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
never heared of the x14nz do you know what was updated or how i can check 100 what my exact engine is please? my mate checked the sensor and said its fine, got a really good spark with (had new dizzy since breaking and plugs only been in for 1200 miles) but everytime you crank it to start it puts way too much fuel in and floods everything which means plugs out and dried and injector casing etc off to dry it out before trying again.

·
I refuse to grow up.
16,114 Posts