Vauxhall Owners Network Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
...according to a pre-budget 'leak', there's going to be a new top-rate of road tax of around £200. It will cover all vehicles emitting over 250g CO2 / km.

The logbook of my 2.2 omega says it emits 243g, so I'm guessing that it will affect all 6-cylinder vauxhalls.

Is it just me or do they want us all driving poxy 1-litre euro shopping trolleys? :grrr

·
Registered
2,068 Posts
Sorry, same thing again but without the typos (I am not good with fast typing):

This is absurd... it's only £40 a year more, do they really think that anyone contemplating a new V8 Jag or 6.0L A8 really cares about this kind of money??? It will serve only one purpose, and this is to put-off used car buyers from buying big older cars, meaning that they will get scrapped much sooner than they otherwise would have, increasing waste and landfills... Why are they pushing us towards this 'throw-away' society? I would be very happy maintaining my Omega for the next 10 years, but it will probably become scrap much sooner because the car devaluates so much while labour rates are so high that you end-up scrapping an otherwise good car because its is 'uneconomical' to repair. I used to do some work in Africa, you should see them running 35 years old lorries in mines, not to mention private vehicles, everything is being repaired and made to run forever - very little is wasted

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I agree - it is absurd.

I think its partly a nod to the anti-SUV mob, and also to extact yet more cash out of the motorist.

·
Registered
434 Posts
It serves no more purpose than to screw us for cash, no benefit with regards to reducing emissions etc. whatsoever. They are simply using it as an excuse. If they really want to make an impact then they should totally ban the manufacture or import of any vehicle that falls outside the limits.