Vauxhall Owners Network Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi, hoping somebody can help

Car went into limp mode (no warning light) over a month ago on an overtake, dropped into 3rd to pass and lost acceleration in a second. Up hills is now 1st or 2nd and is no good at all, the car does a daily 50 mile round trip and some shorter journeys in the evening time, clock shows 126000 miles

Diagnostic showed no fault code, EGR was cleaned and all pipes and air sensor checked, also had change of oil, filters changed and engine flushed. Mechanic reckons it's DPF so I bought cleaner and added it to the fuel, then took it for a hard 15/20 min blast on the motorway so it would regen, came off motorway and still snails pace taking off the rest of the way home

I'm not a mechanic and have already had the car serviced for MOT approx £280 and don't want to fork out any more for a Vauxhall service, new DPF or anything else. Mechanic says car is in very good condition, though he said the oil and fuel filter definitely needed replaced

The only warning light I've seen on it was the spanner light and the odd time the engine management light, other than that nothing to indicate what the problem was. I suspected something wasn't right as it blew out a fair bit of cloudy smoke on a cold start

I'm just trying to isolate what the issue is and then it can be tackled. My only other guesses would be:

Swirl flaps?
Turbo gone?
Crank shaft sensor?

Can anyone help!? Cheers

·
I refuse to grow up.
16,114 Posts
Spanner light means there IS a fault code. You will need to find a) A better mechanic b) A better mechanic with some decent diagnostic gear and the sense to use it.

·
Premium Member
3,296 Posts
Hi, hoping somebody can help